We All Have Bad Days

I follow quite a few people on Twitter, and a goodly amount of writers. I’ve been following, and occasionally talking to, Loren for a few years. And the gem below popped up on my feed, especially for me to see (well, I’d like to think that!). This is not a happy post, but hopefully will inspire.

I saw this on my twitter feed last week, and I connected with the message so profoundly. I posted a while back about the health issues I’ve been facing, and this brought those experiences back. I had a lot of horrible days. I had a lot of pain (and some days still do), but I managed to write something. I managed to read poetry and perform and make art while in that pain.

Though I didn’t write the whole time, I listened to books or composed in my head to write down later. I understand chronic pain now, and how truly debilitating it can be. I also know better how to manage my time. And the goals I want in life.

Which brings me to this: Writing is worth it. It is worth it all. I want to write for the rest of my life. I’ve waffled and hated writing and wanted nothing more than to run away. I’ve wanted to run away from a lot of difficulties. But I didn’t run away from writing when I most wanted to, and that makes a difference.

It’s worth sharing my experience of the pain and the absolutely crushing weight of thinking this was all futile, wasted time. Because you have probably felt it too. Someone else has felt it and given up. I want to share that I’ve felt it, and when I most wanted to give up, I didn’t.

You too can hold on. You too can hang in there. You are not alone in the struggle. There is a whole line of others that have been there, right where you are, and made it through. You can too.

3 thoughts on “We All Have Bad Days

  1. Thank you for this post, dear friend, Andrew. I’m having a fucking bad day. And it doesn’t even have to do with my health, which has been sketchy over the last six months, something I’m not at all used to.

    Today, I feel shitty inside. I feel like my whole life has been a waste of time. So your post came at just the right time. I guess other people feel like shit inside, too, sometimes. Just a bad day. I plan to change that.

    I’ve started, by writing down everything good that I’ve already achieved today. Small victories, but they count. Everything counts. And even shitty days are grist for the mill.

    • I’m sorry for your bad day. I’m glad this could make a difference for you. Sometimes, that is all that we need: to uplift or change just one person’s day. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

