Reading!

It’s been a long time since I posted anything about what I’ve been reading lately. So, here we go!

  1. A Princess of Mars, by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  2. The Fates Will Find Their Wayby Hannah Pittard
  3. Teacher at Point Blankby Jo Scott-Coe

I’ll write a little bit about each of the books I’ve read. They are all quite different from each other in tone, style, and subject.  A Princess of Mars is an older novel from the early days of science fiction (1917). As such, it feels very much like the novels written during that time. In my eyes, they are very stiff and formal and employ a writing style I don’t like. The syntax is rather burdensome and follows the subordinating style popular at the time (which I find taken to extreme as annoying). The story itself is interesting and is arguably the start of modern science fiction, not to mention in that genre’s cannon.

The Fates Will Find Their Way follows a group of men as the progress from young teens to middle age. Often the story jumps time to bring in events as they seem to relate to the story, which focus on the disappearance of Nora Lindell. I found the style captivating and the prose easy to read. The heart of the story often drifted from Nora to bring in events that seemingly had nothing to do with the main focus. One thing that was rather frustrating was the lack of resolution in the story. I think it’s buried in there after two or three reads, but as such, I probably won’t read it again.

Jo Scott-Coe

I’m currently reading a work on nonfiction, Teacher at Point Blank, which I picked up at the Mt. SAC Annual Writers Weekend in 2011—yes I’ve been bad about sitting down to actually read it! Now feel sorry for all the other books that I’ve haven’t had a chance to get to. Though I’m not finished with this book, it is incredible. Scott-Coe is a phenomenal writer with prose so gorgeous it raises the subject matter to serious literary study. Her brilliance is captured in the dark moments of her life where she exposes the inherent “you can’t win” and complexities of teaching in public high schools. An undercurrent of feminist knowledge and belief fuels the book, bring to life the theories in a way that is undeniable.

Leave a Reply

