Learning to Square Dance

Last night, I went to a fundraiser for amBiLA.org at The Village at Ed Gould Plaza (LAn Gay and Lesbian Center) with a friend of mine to support a friend running the event.

The Podunk Poets played at the event, what one of my friends described as “California Country.” And so I learned to square dance at the event. Let’s say that it took quite a few practices and a good amount of time for our group to get the steps down—once we did it was fun. When the band started the second set, we danced to one song and then the group broke up. As there was no one calling, we just kind of winged it. After spend that time learning, you’d think more people would have wanted to stay out there for a little longer, but the squares broke into lines, and I cannot line dance (just about the same as I can’t square dance).

Anyway, it was a fun event, and I learned something new. Thanks to D for getting me out on the dance floor when otherwise I wouldn’t have gone.

Have you done anything fun this week?

P.S. Hoping to do another meditation workshop in September for those of you that missed.

Leave a Reply

