Tagged Post: Questions and Answers

This week, thanks to Layla Messner, I will be answering some questions about my writing. I understand this is a blog hop, and that I’ll be answering questions on a current book or upcoming release. As I have neither really, I’ll answer this about the book I have in beta (hopefully my readers will get back to me soon).

Q: What is the working title of your book?
A: Everlasting Balance

Q: Where did the idea come from for the book?
A: I’ve had the idea for this book for a long time. This started out as a novel I attempted in high school I believe. I’m guessing freshman or sophomore year. One night, the character of Celeste would not let me sleep until I had read the entire old manuscript and started planning the current one.

Q: What genre does your book fall under?
A: I would say it is Fantasy, and because it’s “old world” it’s probably considered High Fantasy. I’ll leave genre up to the publisher for now.

Q: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
A: I have no idea. I’m not big on casting my characters. I think that Liv Tyler might be able to play Celeste. She has the right coloring for the part. Other than that, I don’t know.

Q: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
A: Everlasting Balance follows an unwilling transgender who must restore the world’s magical equilibrium at any cost, or life will vanish forever.

Q: Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
A: Right now, neither. I may go for an agent, though I will try to publish this novel directly through a small press.

Q:How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
A: The first draft took me about a year to finish. The second and third drafts took a subsequent year.

Q: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
A: I honestly do now know of any books with a similar take. It could be that I’m not reading the right books. In general, it follows a regular fantasy pattern.

Q: Who or what inspired you to write this book?
A: Nothing in particular other than that the character wanted this book written.

Q: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
A: I would say that Everlasting Balance reaches to all audiences and I feel the lack of confliction about love and gender should feel comfortable to all readers.

3 thoughts on “Tagged Post: Questions and Answers

    • Thank you! I still need to do a little bit of work, but I’m waiting from a few readers… I’m hoping for a I-couldn’t-put-it-down, but I’m not expecting it.

      • Just remember if they CAN put it down, it’s probably just their life. Took me a while to get that, but I’m like 30% through a book by my favorite author right now and it’s just sitting there and it’s not because I’m not madly in love with it.

Leave a Reply

