4th Annual Writers’ Weekend at Mt. SAC

If you want to check out a little of what happened last year, go here: Writer’s Weekend: Mt. SAC.

This year I attended the entire conference at Mt. San Antonio College (in Walnut, CA) from April 27-29. The event is hosted and run by John Brantingham and Lloyd Aquino, among a cadre of volunteers that work to put on this fantastic event for a year. I had no books to sell, but there is always next year. Maybe I’ll have my novel out by then. Maybe I’ll have a book of poetry too!

If you’d like a list of who was there reading what, see John Buckley’s blog. I feel the entire weekend was amazing. All the participants and presenters were full of creative, positive energy. I will be presenting again next year, so be aware (or beware)! I will list the workshop/presentations that I attended.

Friday, April 27

  • Poetry Workshop by T. Anders Carson
  • Editing Your Work Dispassionately by Martin Lastrapes
  • Plot and Structure by Herschel Greenberg
  • Flash Fiction by Jennifer Olds
Saturday, April 28
  • Publishing Workshop by Anna Faktorovich
  • Fiction Workshop by Mark Haskell Smith
  • Creative Nonfiction Workshop by Jo Scott-Coe
  • Publishing Panel of small press and literary magazines by Kevin Lee, Shannon Therese, Ryan Sarenkani, Jack Foster, Ann Brantingham, Zack Nelson-Lopiccolo, and Cory De Silva (and a few others whose names I don’t have, sorry!).
Sunday, April 29
  • Writing Description That Matters by K. Andrew Turner (that’s me!)
I missed out on Sunday mornings workshops as I got confused about the time, but I scouted out locations for my class during that period.
If you attended the conference, give me thoughts! If you attended my workshop, let me know what you thought about it.
Leave a Reply

