A Writer’s Life+

Many, many weeks ago, I wrote down blog ideas. Today’s idea is undecipherable (as in I have no idea why I would pick the topic). So instead, I have to come up with something else.

I thought I’d mention a little bit of what I’m working on.

I’ve got my novel in first round edits—six chapters and the epilogue left to go. I’m more than 3/4ths of the way done! This is exciting for me, as I haven’t really “finished” a novel before (I have another first draft floating around my hard drive but I think it needs a rewrite, not just revision). After this round, and a few more critiques, I will rewrite again before I search for beta readers. I think it’s coming together quite well!

I’m also working on a few short stories for publication (and of course graduate school applications for the fall). I have one that needs a total rewrite to eliminate vestigial syntax and problems that seem to pervade the piece. I have another I’m going to send to a trusted reader for opinions, and I dissect the heart and play more with the piece. So far, these revisions are making me learn much more than I planned on.

For poetry, I have a few pieces I’m going to polish and create about 2-3 packets of poems (about 5 each) and send them off to be published. I think my poetry is finally becoming something better than just something to use in the bathroom. Though I am way behind on my Poetry Magazine subscription (about 2 months behind, soon to be three). Gosh I need more time for reading, but when you have work, you can’t turn it down.

That’s all the writing I’m working on, not to mention that I’ve got other things in the works. I have my classes at www.snowppl.com/courses and I’m thinking of adding a few courses in essays and short one-week classes in creative writing.

I’ve also been going to the gym regularly, as you can tell if you follow me on twitter. I’ve also been working with my dad, and I have another physical job coming up next week. I am a busy person!

In other exciting news, I will be at the Mt. San Antonio Writer’s Weekend this Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. I will be presenting the seminar “Writing Description That Matters” on the last day of the conference. I’m exciting to participate and present! With last year’s conference past, I know this will be good.

One thought on “A Writer’s Life+

Leave a Reply

