A New Year

Though I don’t put a whole of stock on man-made dates, they do allow an easy point for some general reflection on the past as well as the future.

This last year, I finished writing a book. I’ve had ample opportunity in the past, but never the skill or wherewithal to finish to my somewhat general satisfaction. I had finished one before, but I didn’t much care for it, and I’ve attempted others only to be disappointed by the lack of plot. Also, I meet a young person and a critique group who reminded me much of myself at that age (as a writer) and found that I’ve changed the way I’ve written enough to allow for longer works. My summarization has cut back significantly enough to let me expand and revel in details and side ventures enough that I don’t run out of things to say on page 50. This is a good thing. Of course, I still like writing short stories better.

This next year will present a lot of challenges to me as a writer. I’m going to go to grad school—just not sure where or for how long, but I know I will get into a school and that I will choose the right one. This alone will offer me information, skill, and guidance that right now I feel I need. As much I as I know, I know less than I would like too. I’ll also be teaching again, working through my manuscript from last year (as it goes through critique groups now, betas, hopefully, later in the year), and creating new stories and new characters, and revisiting old friends for some touch ups. Every day I’m learning something new. And this is good.

Happy writing and revising.

One thought on “A New Year

Leave a Reply

