Making Time For Writing

Perhaps the best part of participating in NaNoWriMo is that it “forces” me to write. Not that I wouldn’t otherwise, but it has a nice, clear goal: 50k words in one month. Now, about the forces. What is nice, is that I’m often thinking about when I can write, and for how long, and what to write next.

I make time for writing.

In my regular, everyday life, I tend not to make as much time for writing. Though of course, I try to write about 1,000 words a day, if I can at all.

I’m rethinking my goals, and may wo with a time instead of a number. I read a great article in Poets & Writers where the writer set aside blocks of time and wrote. For every hour, a rather short time writing, she would take 15 minutes at the end to do small tasks around the house, and then go back to writing. It easy to sit in front of a screen for 45 minutes, and when very few words flow, that time can seem long, but there is light at the end of the tunnel.

So that is what I may end up doing. I’ve tried the block of time, with no interference, or outside distractions, and it is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

