Epic Writer’s Block

It’s exactly what I’m experiencing. I posted about it last week. And I’m posting about it this week. I can’t seem to write much (these blogs included) and I have yet to determine why. I think I’m close though, and that it is due to stress and a lack of meditation.

You see, back in my 1000 words-a-day days, I was fairly stress-free and very regular in my meditation. Just this weekend, I was asked to do something extra for family and I felt my entire body shut down and my brain scream at the prospect of adding something else to the queue. I have no idea why I am so stressed, but I’m guessing that it is due to family issues (aka something out of my realm of influence).

I’m going to meditate, and I’m going to release all the stress and hopefully that will help. I’ve cleaned my room, decluttered my work space, and ripped the rejections off of my wall. I feel better already, but I still have a ways to go. I’m hoping meditation and yoga will help ease this writer’s block.

Perhaps this will just be another paragraph in my MFA application for next fall, but right now it’s driving me crazy!

P.S. I’ve also been experiencing Worthless Writer Syndrome, wherein I feel like an epic failure as a writer and think of quitting. I haven’t given up yet, and I will push through this and write something excellent!

6 thoughts on “Epic Writer’s Block

  1. As unpleasant as it is, both dry spells and worthless writer syndrome are all part of the lot of a writer. You sound like you’re on the right track to get your inspiration back. As for the worthless writer syndrome – keep in mind you’re the only one who knows what you’re trying to accomplish, everyone else is merely expressing their, very subjective, opinion.

  2. Chin up. I think you have taken the right first steps to getting to where you need to be. Meditation is definitely and important thing. If your mind is clear it is much easier to put even the messiest of thoughts in line. Don’t be too hard on yourself and don’t give up. Keep in mind that even Worthless Writers Syndrome is healthy to have every once in a while. That way you appreciate the highs in your life more and when you come out of it you are a stronger, more determined person. That is at least where I am, having just come out of my own bout of Worthless Writer Syndrome. I’m more driven than ever and I just know you will be too.

    • Thank you so much for the comment! Yes. Meditation certainly does help, and I wasn’t aware (at the moment) that I needed to meditate. I know that when I’m completely out of The Funk, I’ll be better off. I think I’m slowly coming out of. Maybe another week or two before I’m back to normal.

Leave a Reply

