Write On!

Has this exactly blog post title been used before? No doubt it has! If there is one thing I’ve learned these last couple of years, it would be that you only become a better writer by writing. Sounds easy enough.

It isn’t. I’ve slogged through several tired novels, trilogies, stories, and finally, I think I’m on the right track. Unfortunately I’ve thought I was on the right track before, after completing several other stories, novels, etc. Looking back on my previous work, I can see that it was exactly as good as I could have possible made it at the time (counting revisions). Now I see how to improve or change it more for the better.

This takes hard work, lots of time with no immediate payoffs, and an inherent (or developed) ability to let go of previous favorite stories/novels/trilogies. I think for me, it was hardest to let my trilogy go. I haven’t given up on it yet, but I’m not ready to part with it and start anew—and that is what it will take. I think we all learn by doing, by playing in the mud. Don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty.

We truly do become better writers by stretching our mental capacities and writing, writing, writing.

Leave a Reply

