Listening to Character

So over the last couple weeks, I haven’t been writing as much as I normally would. One reason could be timing. I’ve been busy on other projects (such as fitness and crocheting). Another could simply be because I needed a break from working on The Balance. I have been writing, because I do free writes each week with my current students—I may post one such free write here. I think, though, that the reason I haven’t been writing is this: my MC, Celeste, does not want to do this scene.

She has been balking at me, strangely, because she does not want to admit feelings she has for another character, Rhyn. And this is silly, to me at least. She’s had several other male companions in previous chapters, though admittedly he is different. She actually likes him.

The scene I’m working on now involves her telling her feelings for him. I think through wine, she’ll loosen up enough to tell him. Poor thing doesn’t know he likes her back. I tried to tell her, but she just pouted, refusing to believe me. Oh well. This author match-maker will just have to put them together, wine or not!

2 thoughts on “Listening to Character

  1. Hehe, I have to admit it’s always nice to see that I’m not alone. This reminds me of when I had an all day argument with my character Victor. He betrayed his niece, I just knew it, but he would not tell me why. All day I begged him to tell me. To my absolute surprise, a twist was revealed that caught me so off guard a gaped out loud-which was kinda embarrassing since I was at work. Sometimes your characters are stubborn for a reason, that’s why I always try to let them drive. Of course, sometimes they need to behave themselves too. ; )

    • Yes! Exactly! Sometimes they do need to be stubborn, and usually she is stubborn for a reason, but I’m going to see if making her behave is good right now.

Leave a Reply

