Trouble in Paradise

After being sick and completely not writing (or doing anything other than getting well) for a week, I’ve finally started up again. I’ve been having some trouble though, and not just before I got sick. I’d write about 200-400 words and then the scene would be done, finished nothing more. I kept wracking my brain to get more out of these (what I deemed) paltry sequences of events. NOthing would come, and the characters refused to give better performances.

It took me some time, but I finally realized today why these scenes in particular give me trouble. Transitions. Yup, nasty, unwanted scenes that move the story bit by bloody bit closer to something meaningful. Even my characters hate them with a passion. “Why are you putting me in this room to look at it? Nothing happens!” to which I told her “Remember, you’ve just been transformed, have huge amounts of memory loss, and the whole world is now new to you.” She crossed her arms and hasn’t talked much since then. I don’t blame here. These scenes aren’t interesting, or fun for her (and not much for me). Perhaps I’ll coax more life or distill them into something less later on in the process.

My goal? Crank out as many of these horrid, dreaded sequences as I can and move on. She’ll be happy, I’ll be happy. It’s a win-win situation.

7 thoughts on “Trouble in Paradise

  1. Hmm…I’m not sure if I don’t write transition scenes, don’t consider them transition scenes, or write them and cut them after, but I tend to think, if you’re not interested, and your character’s aren’t interested…Are you sure those scenes need to be in there at all?

    • They may not need to be, but right now, I need them to understand my character and the transformation she’s just experienced (without any memory). It’s difficult stuff to write, but I need some base for what happens. I’m sure more than a few scenes will get the axe.

  2. I’m in agreement with Layla, in that if both you and your character are bored, so will your readers be. Each scene, even the transitionary ones, should have a purpose, one which without the scene the story will be incomplete.

    But that being said, if you’re writing them to help provide grounding for yourself and your character, then it is a valuable excercise, as long as you’re willing to part with the boring parts later.

    I think for me one of the issues with transitions scenes is where there is a break in your story, and you don’t want to cover all the minutiae of what happened in between, but you need the reader to know certain things. You also don’t want to do an infodump, so the question is how do you span from point A to point F without confusing your reader, and making it a compelling enough reason that the reader doesn’t get lost along the way.

    • I am very willing to part with these scenes. I need them for what they tell me, even if my character would rather run around a forest than sit in a room and look out a window. I’m leaving the devices to get from point A to point F for later. Right now, I’m going through every point and bringing much of the little details along with me. It’s tedious, but when I hit a scene, I know it.

      • Good for you! You just keep after it. I’ve been there with trouble writing…not a block per se, but an effort to put any words down – even bad ones. We all have our methods, and if this will help you write a better book??? Then Write On!!!!

          • Thanks! Yes, I am stumbling through this part, and I hope that these will be the hardest scenes to write. After a great beginning, I’ve had to come to a walk.

Leave a Reply

