30 Days of Writing-Day Twenty Four

24. How willing are you to kill your characters if the plot so demands it? What’s the most interesting way you’ve killed a character?

Yes. I’m very willing to kill characters, if the plot demands it. Killing characters just because there are too many is a silly thing. Death is very serious, especially for characters. If they don’t work in my story, sometimes I cut them out and place them in a special place to be revived again, if I so need them. As I was once told in class, “Death is not an ending for a story, it is a cop-out for dealing the issues presented in the story.” I agree. Characters need to deal with the death and not just in a, “Oh, that’s so sad that Johnny died. Now, let’s go get some brunch.”

I’ve turned a few characters to stone, one into a bronze statue, and I’m working on killing off others, though I don’t really like doing it. I don’t! I don’t kill characters in very ‘new’ ways. Ah! There we go. I remember (thanks to Scrivener) that I had a story from my 221 class where I had a young girl take hold of a sword, and then she became possessed by the god of war, and she killed her friends and storms off to go kill villagers. That’s the most interesting way I’ve killed off characters.

One thought on “30 Days of Writing-Day Twenty Four

  1. Drew,

    I’m sorry it took me so long to find your blog and take a good look around! Plenty to keep me busy here for a long time now.

Leave a Reply

