30 Days of Writing-Day Twenty One

21. Do any of your characters have children? How well do you write them?

You know, a few of my characters do have children, but they are off-page and therefore don’t appear. I think writing children is very difficult as I’ve mentioned in another post. Of course some of my characters’ children are older than me so they wouldn’t be as hard. The issue that people run into is what would the child know? A child narrator would not understand things as an adult, not would they have as large a vocabulary. It creates interesting issues to deal with. Even teenagers do not understand fully the same thing that adults do, but they are slightly easier to write because the are more sophisticated and understand a lot more than young children.

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Writing-Day Twenty One

  1. Thanks for the post. It can be hard to write from any point of view that is drastically different from one’s own. I think I’ll work on my own 30 days or writing, albeit far behind you and J.Koyagani.

    As an aside, I quite like you WIP widget, where did you find it?

Leave a comment