30 Days of Writing-Day Nineteen

19. Favorite minor that decided to shove himself into the spotlight and why!

This is actually a good one. In The Heir of Illuminations my current main character, Áhron was actually a secondary character, before he finally told me the truth, that the story I wrote was really about him. After that I wrote 60 pages in one week, the most writing I’ve ever done at one time. I wrote about 8 hours a day.

I think it’s fascinating how that happened. It just hit me one day that Áhron really was the protagonist. It felt so natural. Of course, the previous main character got relegated to secondary status, Kôl. Now he wants to be important again. He is a major chacter, just not the primary person. But lately I’ve found myself drawn into telling his part of the story. I wrote his POV for about four days, the longest stretch of any one characters since I’ve had a writing goal of 1,000 words a day. I still like his character, and I love that after 5 years, I can still get in there and hear what he has to say.

Leave a Reply

