30 Days of Writing-Day Sixteen

16. Do you write romantic relationships? How do you deal with those, and how “far” are you willing to go in your writing?

Yes, I do. I think that relationships are an important part of people’s lives. Look at any person you know in life and tell me they aren’t looking for one if they don’t have it. You won’t find very many people who aren’t. Love is something we all look for, and sexual desire is a part of being human (you may now excuse the aliens). I listen to what the story tells me. Is it necessary for this story to have such a relationship? Is this character’s story about finding someone?

I take it slow and let the characters tell me what they want to happen, and I listen to the story. I am currently throwing four characters together in my WIP and I feel that is what they want or need to grow. Though I do separate them for a time, I’m hoping it gets them to realize their true feelings for each other. While I have the set up, sometimes distance and time wear away desires, and I think my characterize will realize their feelings for each other.

I’m willing to go as far as need be. If the story demands sex, it demands sex. I’ll tell it. I may realize later that it doesn’t need to show, and that it may detract from the story. But it may be important for me to know how they work together. People have sex, and they talk about it. It is surprisingly taboo in the writing world, though if you look at my last post, a lot of the writers there use sex in their story, though it’s not erotic, nor does it last pages and pages. I think it is worthwhile to mention something that can be so important in a character’s life.  I think there is a fine line between writing sex and writing erotica.

Leave a Reply

