30 Days of Writing-Day Six

6. Where are you most comfortable writing? At what time of day? Computer or good ol’ pen and paper?

I’m going to admit to my epic laziness here, but I am most comfortable writing in two places: my bed or my “desk” (a glorified folding table). I wrote over 60 pages of Heir of Illuminations in bed on my winter vacation after starting at the University of New Mexico. How’s that for comfort? I also like writing at my desk, especially because it’s easier to get up and move about if I need to, and it’s also fairly comfortable. Currently, I’m writing at my desk. 🙂

I like to write when it’s daylight. I don’t like to do any work after it gets dark. I’m strange I suppose. That’s one of the reasons I’ve been trying to get up earlier. More time to get some writing in! Although at my previous job (hotel front desk 3-11) I used to throw down a few words (you can see to the right under The Unknown Dragon for how many). I usually wrie the morning or early afternoon.

I see a lot of writers now writing with computer, and I admit that’s how I write too. There is, however, and undeniable connection with good ol’ pen and paper. I write notes with pen and paper, and I must edit by hand for my own work. I think my earliest writings were scribbled in pencil (maybe pen) and paper. I think the top reason we choose computer is that it is much easier to edit and change on screen than on paper. But I try very hard not to edit as I go along, so much so that I turn off spell-check in Scrivener.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Writing-Day Six

  1. Does Hotel Blue know you were writing on the clock?

    Thanks for sharing, I enjoy reading about your process and learning more about you. You should also talk about whether you write with or without pants.

Leave a Reply

