30 Days of Writing-Day Five

5. By age, who is your youngest character? Oldest? How about “youngest” and “oldest” in terms of when you created them?

By age? Very good question. I think my youngest character is probably 16. I don’t like writing children or early teens because it’s so difficult to pull off well. Most of my characters are 19/20 to 25/26. As I’m fairly close to that age range, it makes it easier to write. My oldest character I think is in her early 70’s, and I live with my grandparents and know a lot of older folk, it isn’t as difficult (as younger people). Eventually I’m going to have 1000’s of years old characters. That will be a big challenge!

My “youngest” character in terms of creation would be a Trevor, from a short story I have the 1st draft done. He’s a gay basketball superstar (at least to his high school teammates), and falls for the drama boy, who happens to be straight. My “oldest” character is from my last post, Jeff. I have other characters in his age range, like The Princess (I can’t find her name, I don’t think she has one) and characters in a story about presidential candidates circa 2000. There you have it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

