30 Days of Writing: Day One

I’ve jumped aboard J. Koyanagi’s boat for 30 days of writing. Although its more 30 days about writing. You can see her original post here. I’ve read the questions, and one of her answers. Since I’m starting a day later, I’ll finish a day later. No catch ups! 🙂 Alright, I’m ready for question one!

1. Tell us about your favorite writing project/universe that you’ve worked with and why.

I’m mostly going to discuss and answer questions about all my work, as best I can. Therefore this question is one of the hardest on here! Starting tough. I have lots and lots of projects, none of which are really finished except a few short stories. I have ADD when it comes to writing and often start projects while finishing others at a much later date.

I think my favorite universe to work on/with is my “Heir” universe. I’ve been working on this project for over 5 years. Yes, that is correct. I’ve worked on the universe, characters, stories, maps, everything for over five years. That’s a long time, and maybe helps me understand why authors don’t just churn out work like mill. It’s hard work. I’m still chugging on the first book Heir of Illuminations, though it’s about half-way done.

The reason I love it so much? For starters, if I hated it, well, it wouldn’t be a current work in progress. I love the world I have envisioned. I have the past set up from thousands and thousands of years before. I blame my love of ancient history as a catalyst for the expansive history of my world. The reason why I have this huge history to deal with is parallel to our own history. What happens in the past defines the future.

Even though one of my characters can see the future, what he sees is limited, and in no way expresses the entire future timeline. An ancient people from the past of Uiquar, show up again, thousands of years after they’ve left. This is where the history becomes important. I have to know about the Grimdrel in order to portray them. I have to know how they left, why, and why they are returning. Everything that has happened in the past drives the story to only one point in the future. Any events that have changed in the past affect the future of the story.

I have one short piece from the past  written after I “finished” the first book. This universe and story is the longest work I’ve come up with, the most difficult task I’ve taken on. I’m not a long winded author, I don’t have reams and reams pages. I like my stories 20 pages and under. So when I’m getting past 40 pages, I feel accomplished. World-building takes up a lot of time, and to make use of that time, adding stories to the universe makes that world-building more effective.

One minor note before I close for the day: the whole story was written when I had no knowledge of writing, no know-how about the difficulty, no editing experience. I’m taking work that was IMO sub-par and shaping it to become something more robust and lively. Writing is a craft we writers work on day by day, week by week, month by month, year by year. I’m hoping that this go-around, the story will take off and I can start on Book 2.

Leave a Reply

