Teaser Tuesday

Here is a teaser from another Work In Progress The Tribe of Four Winters. Right now there isn’t a whole lot of development to the story as I’m trying to get some other WIPs settled down first. This is the second scene from the first chapter.

A small sound broke him out of his reverie. He looked up at the entrance to his hut. A shadow fell on the entranceway. Not many were bold enough to enter uninvited. Those who were usually had urgent business.
“Come,” Atharex said.
The figure outside shifted slightly before deciding to enter. He knew who it was the moment he was aware of someone outside. Ryghan entered, a little hesitantly. He was tall, almost unnervingly so, and all thick muscle. He looked like a young version of the Chief. He was set off however by the eyes of his mother. She had the eyes of the gods. Brilliant turquoise.
Atharex remained seated.
“What is your reason for coming?” he asked.
“Athar,” he started.
Atharex thought of chastising his old childhood friend about the name, but decided not too. He was someone Atharex could always count on, and besides would be the new Body soon.
“Yes, old friend?”
“I came to invite you on our hunt,” he said, a little rushed, his eyes not meeting his own.
“Who would attend my duties to the people were I to hunt with you?” Atharex said quietly.
“Your presence would lend us all a successful hunt.”
“I can pray to the gods from here just as well.”
“I would like you to come.”
“And you know I would, were I not needed so much. But it is my duty to be here with our people. I cannot leave them without my protection. You can protect yourself. Your hunters can protect themselves. The women and children cannot.”
“I understand.” Ryghan paused for a moment. “My father is almost Set, is he not?”
“He will not last the winter. I am sorry, Ry.”
“It is the will of the gods,” he said, eyes searching the roof of the hut.
“I shall pray for your safe return, and a successful hunt.” Atharex stood, unfolding his legs gracefully. He stood shorter than Ryghan, but not much so.
“We leave before day break,” he said. “I must prepare. Is it selfish of me to wish our roles on others to live as we pleased?”
“Perhaps, perhaps not. May the gods watch over us,” Atharex whispered, embracing his friend tightly in answer, stopping short of increased affection that would lead him to make a foolish choice. “I pray every moment for your safe return.”
With that Ryghan left.
Atharex sat on the floor again, the various thick hides an ever-present reminder of Ryghan’s affections, and began to meditate. He brought himself to speak to the gods and asked that they watch over the hunters, and give them bounty. The gods heard, but said nothing in reply. Silent. Atharex knew Ryghan’s skill, so he did not worry in the least.

4 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday

  1. I don’t think you mentioned it, but I could *smell* woodsmoke while reading this scene. I liked it, thanks for reposting your link 🙂

Leave a Reply

