Reading At an Open Mic

Here is some wonderful writerly advice. I’ve been writing since before Windows XP, back in the days of 1997. Of course I was much younger than a lot less knowledgable.

I’ve found that by reading out loud, I’ve see inconsistencies and points of clarification that need to happen in my work. I become inspired to rewrite, and ideas swirl around in my head while I’m reading. I’ve also become bored while reading my work, and what does that say about the audience or the reader when it’s placed in front of them? You too can discover the powerful form of reading out loud for re-vision.

Find an open mic, find anywhere you can read your work aloud. You say there aren’t any near you? I’m hosting one in the San Gabriel Valley in beautiful downtown Glendora at the Village Book Shop 2:30pm Saturday June 26th (123 N Glendora Ave, Glendora, CA 91741). So if you’re in the area, you should come by and read. If you don’t, try to find a local bookstore, or library and see if they offer events like an open mic reading. If not, host your own!

Creating community as a writer is not always easy. Many people think of writers as hiding in dark, dank rooms behind a typewriter or the soft glow of a computer screen. That may be how we write (on occasion), but that does not get our work the light of day. We must go forth and find readers, or meet agents, or talk to other people. If you’re a writer, you know this deep down inside.

So take your baby, your work in progress, and give her a nice polish then take her out for a walk and a reading. Share your words with the world. And remember, speaking is different than reading.

Leave a Reply

